Sunday, Apr 26, 2015

Chandigarh Golf Club: Birinder Singh Gill wins third term as president

Birinder Singh Gill (yellow T-shirt) along with his supporters in Chandigarh on Monday.(Kshitij Mohan) Birinder Singh Gill (yellow T-shirt) along with his supporters in Chandigarh on Monday. (Kshitij Mohan)
By: Express News Service | Chandigarh | Published on:April 29, 2014 2:28 am

It was a battle between two former presidents Birinder Singh Gill and Tegvir Singh Sibia in the Chandigarh Golf Club elections held on Sunday, and Gill emerged as the winner.

Gill, who had won in 2009-10 and 2010-2011, claimed the top post as he got 535 votes as compared to 470 votes claimed by Sebia.

After the win, Gill emphasised the importance of his four-point vision for the club in the coming year and exuded confidence that his team would be able to fulfil the promises. “We have been saying this right from the first day of our campaigning that we will make a four-point plan for the club’s development. The first point is about the development of the course and we will cater to all the needs of the course. The second point, which is very close to my heart, is the development of junior programmes for the members at a nominal fee. Thirdly, we will aim to improve catering services in the club. The fourth point is to improve and add more activities at the club, and we will try to implement these,” said the 54-year-old advocate.

Gill, a member of the club for the past 29 years, has been instrumental in focusing on making the club paper-less. One of his earlier plans was to hire the services of a UK-based company to give training for green keeping and course maintenance. “I am happy that it will be my third term as a president. During my last two terms, I got support of most of the members and this time too, I hope I will be able to gather support of the members on various issues. There were few things which we could not achieve in my last two terms and I am eager to achieve those. We are satisfied that this time the elections were fought in a right spirit and members came to support my candidature,” said Gill.

Sebia, meanwhile, was gracious in his defeat and was hopeful that the panel would work towards the development of the club. “I wish Gilly best of luck. Members chose what they thought was best for the club, and I am happy that four members of our group made it to the panel. The panel will work towards the development of the club,” said Sebia.

Here’s the panel: president: Birinder Singh Gill; management committee members: I P S Mann (Gill group), Ravinder Singh

Virk (Gill group), Jyoti Singh (Independent), G S Kochar (Sebia group), S P S Ghai (Gill group), Jaspal Sidhu (Gill group), H S Kang (Sebia group), Alamgir Grewal (Sebia group), Balbir Singh Mangat (Gill group), B R Jain (Gill group) and Amarinder Aulakh (Sebia group).

Do you like this story