Nandan Nilekani gets Congress nod for Bangalore South

Former Infosys CEO, UIDAI chairman Nandan Nilekani. Former Infosys CEO, UIDAI chairman Nandan Nilekani.

Eight out of the nine sitting MPs from the Congress have been chosen once again to contest the Lok Sabha polls in a first list of 14 candidates announced for Karnataka by the AICC on Saturday.

Former Infosys CEO, UIDAI chairman Nandan Nilekani has been chosen for Bangalore South constituency while Congress MLA A Manju has been chosen to battle former PM H D Deve Gowda of JDS at Hassan.

The only seat represented by Congress MPs not included in the first list is Chikaballapur, represented by oil and natural gas minister Veerappa Moily. With the JDS threatening to field its leader H D Kumaraswamy’s wife Anita in the constituency and BJP fielding the formidable B N Bache Gowda, Congress is taking time before finalizing its candidate.

Railway minister Mallikarjun Kharge will contest again from Gulbarga while minister for small industries K H Muniyappa has won the nod again to contest from Kolar. Veteran Congressman Dharam Singh will contest from Bidar while two young first time MPs — actress Ramya and D K Suresh — will contest from Mandya and Bangalore Rural respectively.

Former Karnataka cricketer Prakash Rathod will contest from the Bijapur reserved constituency.