Telangana Separate Statehood

Result: 1- 8 out of 63 Article found

Telangana fallout: AP under President’s rule after 41 years

Andhra Pradesh first came under President’s rule way back in January 1973 following the “Jai Andhra” agitation for a separate state.

Andhra Pradesh to be under President’s rule; sops announced for Seemandhra

Andhra Pradesh Governor E S L Narasimhan will hold the charge during the period of President’s rule.

Telangana Bill to be sent for President’s nod next week: Jairam Ramesh

Denying that the Congress pushed the Bill with an eye on elections, Ramesh pointed out that the Telangana demand had been there for the last about 60 years.

Decision on President’s rule in Andhra likely on Friday

The bill to create the country’s 29th state, by splitting Andhra Pradesh, was passed by Parliament in the just-concluded Winter session.

Why TRS would rather ally than merge with Cong

Senses it is in pole position after Telangana attains statehood; besides, it has seen where a merger has left Chiranjeevi’s party

The new vote banks

The haste with which the Congress pushed the creation of Telangana was a classic example of segment marketing, but there are numerous others.

A new state, in the dark

Telangana bill’s journey through Parliament cast a shadow on its legitimacy

BJP vies with Cong for credit after overruling Advani’s caution

The BJP has now decided to compensate for that slip by moving amendments in the Rajya Sabha, throwing a spanner in the Congress’ plans.

Agitation was engineered by Reddy: Deo

Deo, one of the few ministers from the Seemandhra region who had not offered to resign over the division, said this was not really a people’s movement, but was engineered.

BJP colluded with Cong in violating norms: CPM

The BJP also alleged the switching off of live telecast of house proceedings was ‘a surreptitious move to prevent the people from seeing the undemocratic spectacle’.

TV: No LS repeat in Rajya Sabha, warns BJP

The BJP, also criticised the Lok Sabha secretariat deploring that there is no video available for the public records in future.

TMC at Pranab’s door to stall Bill

Trinamool Congress MPs on Wednesday met President Pranab Mukherjee to protest against the manner in which the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Bill 2014 was passed in the Lok Sabha, “violating all parliamentary rules and procedures.” The party requested the President not to allow the Bill to come to the Rajya sabha. “The Bill was not included […]

TDP MP snatches papers, apologises

The MP later apologised for his conduct, prompting Deputy Chairman P J Kurien to drop his plans to take action against him.

Cong’s first casualty: Its govt and chief minister in Andhra

Congress and BJP colluded, says Kiran as he quits party and government.

Lok Sabha Speaker accepts resignation of Expelled Congress MP L Rajagopal

Rajagopal had opposed division of Andhra Pradesh and brought in a canister and sprayed pepper.