Rajya Sabha

Result: 1- 8 out of 1412 Article found
West Bengal, Congress, TMC, Trinamool Congress, Congress MLAs join TMC, Manas Bhunia, West Bengal politics, West Bengal news, India news, latest news, Indian express

Congress defector Manas Bhunia gets Trinamool nomination to Rajya Sabha

With eye on Darjeeling, Mamata Banerjee nominates former GNLF member Shanta Chhetri.

BJD, Odisha, BJD Odisha, Odisha Assembly, Odisha Assembly speaker, india news

BJD candidate files nomination for Rajya Sabha polls

Pratap Keshari Deb, resigned as the chairman of the Odisha State Housing Board before filing the nomination paper.

maternity scheme, government cash benefit, maternity cash benefit, Janani Suraksha Yojana, JSY scheme, NRHM, indian express news, india news

Maternity (Amendment) Bill: Looks good on paper, but there’s more to it than what meets the eye

While India may be ahead of the United States (which gives its women employees 12 weeks of unpaid maternity leave), our Maternity Bill leaves out a large section of women in the unorganized sector — and that’s a colossal setback.

parliament, winter session, parliament updates, winter session updates, lok sabha adjourned, demonetisation parliament, opposition demonetisation protest, ghulam nabi azad, rahul gandhi, parliament demonetisation, demonetisation protest, india news

Winter session: Standstill in Parliament can be reflection on where the country is headed

The juvenile tactic of disrupting Parliament sessions is deeply entrenched in Indian politics, but it should make you question the maturity of the MPs we’ve sent to represent us in Parliament

demonetisation, modi, rajya sabha, opposition

Demonetisation logjam: Govt reaches out to Opposition, PM Modi likely to attend Rajya Sabha tomorrow

Earlier in the day, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan disallowed the adjournment motion notices by opposition parties for a debate on demonetisation, amid huge uproar from opposition benches.

rajya sabha, pj kurein, rajya sabha deputy chairman mukhtar abbas naqvi, naqvi parliament, mukhtar abbas naqvi rajya sabha, rajya sabha kurien, india news

Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman PJ Kurien settles spat over Bill

Congress MP K V P Rao had moved the Bill seeking special status for Andhra Pradesh through a constitutional amendment.

india banking debts, india banks debt resolution, india news, RBI debt resolution, RBI interest rates, RBI policies, business news

Rajya Sabha: 45 bills pending, some introduced 30 years ago

The bills pending in Rajya Sabha includes the contentious Constitution (One Hundred and Twenty-second Amendment) Bill, 2014, known as the GST Bill.

Rajya sabha polls, RS polls, RS election, Rajya sabha election, rajya sabha elections, congress, BJP, kapil sibal, BSP, uttar pradesh, karnataka, haryana, RS poll updates

Rajya Sabha polls: BJP gains edge in Upper House but still short of majority

If NDA fails to gain majority of votes, they would have to be dependent on regional parties to push for crucial legislations

Rajya Sabha, Mahesh Poddar, BJP, Jharkhand, Jharkhand congress, Jharkhand Rajya Sabha, Rajya Sabha Jharkhand, BJP news, India news

Rajya Sabha polls — Drama in Ranchi: Missing MLAs, a winning formula

Mahesh Poddar faced a stiff contest from the Opposition Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) candidate Basant Soren, the youngest son of party founder Shibu Soren.

Haryana Rajya Sabha elections, Birender Singh, Subhash Chandra, R K Anand, Indian National Lok Dal, Congress , punjab news, india news

Haryana Rajya Sabha polls: Hooda ‘rebellion’ ensures defeat for Congress-backed lawyer RK Anand

All 17 Congress MLAs were against voting for Anand, who was backed by state rival INLD — but their objections had been overruled by their party high command.

Kapil Sibal, Kapil Sibal rajya sabha, Kapil Sibal Uttar Pradesh, Samajwadi Party, RAjya sabha polls uttar pradesh, uttar pradesh rajya sabha polls, UP rajya sabha polls, india news

UP RS polls: Amid cross-voting scare, Sibal scrapes through, all SP candidates make the cut

BSP’s Satish Chandra Misra and Ashok Siddharth and BJP’s Shiv Pratap Shukla won too.

Rajya Sabha, rajya sabha polls, venkaiah naidu, Rajasthan Rajya Sabha, Harsh Vardhan Rajasthan, Venkiah Naidu Rajasthan, RS polls Rajasthan, BJP in Rajasthan RS, RS polls 2016, election news, rajasthan news, india news

Rajya Sabha elections: BJP sweeps all 4 seats in Rajasthan, Congress-backed nominee loses

While Naidu and Mathur each got 42 votes, BJP’s other two candiates Harsh Vardhan, a member of erstwhile Dungarpur royal family, and Ramkumar Verma, a retired RBI official, secured 40 each.

rajya sabha, rajya sabha polls, rajya sabha elections, madhya pradesh, madya pradesh rajya sabha election, MP rajya sabha elections, MJ Akbar, MJ AKbar rajya sabha, Vivek Tankha, vivek Tankha rajya sabha, india news, latest news

Rajya Sabha election: MJ Akbar, Anil Dave of BJP, Vivek Tankha of Congress win from Madhya Pradesh

Senior journalist M J Akbar and state BJP leader and strategist Dave polled 58 votes each, while Tankha secured 62 votes–57 from Congress, four from BSP and one independent, returning officer Bhagwandas Israni said.

Uttar Pradesh Rajya Sabha polls: BJP MLA cross-votes in favour of SP candidate

BJP MLA Vijay Bahadur Yadav cross voted in favor of a Samajwadi Party candidate.

GSEC, Gujarat State Election Commission, gram panchayat, gram panchayat elections, gram panchayat polls, indian express news, gujarat news, india news

Voting for Rajya Sabha seats ends from Haryana

Voting for the two seats started at 9 am. The BJP has sufficient votes to ensure victory of Union Minister Birender Singh.