Rajya Sabha Elections

Result: 1- 8 out of 43 Article found
Congress, BJP, Goa, Goa BJP, Congress Goa, Goa government, Luizinho Faleiro, Goa news, Indian express news, india news

Rajya Sabha polls: State by state, each party guards flock, watches bad eggs

Out of 57 seats, the Congress and BJP currently hold 14 each.

Rajya Sabha elections, Uttar Pradesh, Shibu Soren, JMM, Babulal Marandi, JVM, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, india news

Delhi confidential: Queering the pitch

Now it has decided to back the JMM candidate —- Soren’s son Basant —- along with Babulal Marandi’s JVM and a Left party.

Captain Amarinder Singh, Priyanka Gandhi, PUNJAB CONGRESS president, Priyanka congress, Indian National Congress, Congress reshuffle, punjab assembly elections, india news

Punjab Congress top brass to meet Rahul Gandhi today

Amarinder asserted his confidence over Rahul Gandhi, saying he was ready to take charge as the Congress chief now

Rajya sabha polls: Kamal Morarka files nomination papers

Supported by Cong and others, Morarka may break BJP’s hopes of all its 4 men elected unopposed.

bjp, bjp rajya sabha nomination, rajya sabha jharkhand nominations, jharkhand, rajya sabha elections, mahesh poddar, industrialist mahesh poddar, india news

Jharkhand Rajya Sabha nominations: Industrialist who served BJP quietly for a decade

In the past, Jharkhand has had unheralded RS nominees who got elected.

rajya sabha elections, legislative council election, uttar pradesh candidates, Uttar pradesh news, indian express news, lucknow news

Rajya Sabha, Legislative Council elections: Extra UP candidates muddle equations, pave way for horse trading, rebellion

The RS polls took an interesting turn with an independent candidate Preeti Mohapatra filing her nomination papers at the last moment, making it 12 candidates for 11 seats from the state.

bjp, bjp uttar pradesh, ram mandir, bjp ram mandir, Ayodhya, ram mandir Ayodhya, uttar pradesh elections, up elections, uttar pradesh assembly elections, up assembly elections, uttar pradesh

Rajya Sabha elections: UP BJP nominates its state unit vice-president Shiv Pratap Shukla

The RS and MLC elections will be held on June 10 and June 11, respectively.

Kapil Sibal, Rajya Sabha, Rajya Sabha polls, Congress Rajya sabha, Sibal Rajya Sabha, Rajya Sabha elections, UP Rajya Sabha

Rajya Sabha Elections: Kapil Sibal files papers from UP, his assets up 61% since 2014 Lok Sabha polls

Sibal, who was accompanied by wife Promila while filing papers at Vidhan Bhavan in Lucknow, declared total assets — movable and immovable — worth over Rs 184 crore.

JD(U), JD(U) MLC, Sushil Kumar Modi, Nitish Kumar, Shahabuddin, RJD, Bihar politics, Sushil Modi legal notice, Bihar news, India news, latest news, Indian express

Rajya Sabha Polls: BJP picks surprise candidate in Bihar over Sushil Modi

Sources said the decision to replace Modi — who had reportedly been assured a berth in the Upper House — was taken in the “last moments” and came as a surprise


J&K: Only 2 seats certain in Rajya Sabha elections, may even see a tie today

For the seat vacated by PCC chief Saif-ud-Din Soz, there is a contest between Fayaz Mir of PDP and NC’s Sajjad Kitchloo.


By end of Modi term, BJP would be near 70 in RS, Cong around 48

Elections to 10 RS seats will be held this year — the first lot of four seats are in J&K.


Sharad Yadav wins RS seat from Bihar; four in fray for 2 other seats

Sharad Yadav was elected unopposed to the seat vacated by LJP President Ramvilas Paswan after LS polls.


RS elections: Sharad Yadav likely to figure among three JD(U) nominees

JD(U) national president Sharad Yadav likely to be nominated for the Upper House.

Court had disposed of the petition by the NGO after noting that the probe was being conducted satisfactorily and there was no need to monitor it.

Apex court to examine if court-monitored CBI probe should continue

The High Court had disposed of the petition by the NGO after noting that the probe was being conducted satisfactorily and there was no need to monitor it.

Mamata Banerjee with Mithun Chakraborty and Jogen Chowdhury in Kolkata on Friday.

Mithun, Sanjay Singh among 18 new faces

Prominent among those elected include actor Mithun Chakraborty (West Bengal), T Subbirami Reddy (Andhra Pradesh) and Sanjay Singh (Assam).